Smartphones in our lives

Posted: April 22, 2013 in Technology
Tags: , , ,

Here are a couple of scenes that I’m sure many of you can relate to. Waking up in the morning and immediately grabbing your smartphone which is next to your pillow or at the very least within three feet of you. Or getting up out of bed after an intense love making session and noticing a smartphone on both sides of the bed. Hanging out with your friends and having side conversations via text or simply turning your phone on and off every few minutes.

The everyday technology we see has made a rapid growth in the past few years. It’s impossible to ride the subway without spotting several people taking out their smartphones, tablets, or kindles. For those of you that live in New York City or anywhere else with trains that run underground I want you to try this out. As soon as your train goes above ground or into an area where there is cell phone service, count how many people instantly reach into their pockets and take out their phones. My average count, we’ll say about five. That’s just in my immediate surroundings. I can guarantee you that if I’m not taking a nap I’m probably playing a game or jotting down some lyric ideas on my Evernote app. 

I’ll be honest I can’t live without my phone for very long. The act of reaching into my pocket for my phone is just engraved into my body now. It’s just a natural function for both myself and a very large portion of the earth’s population. We used to call people when we urgently needed something. Nowadays most two minute phone conversations will instead take place over a ten or fifteen minute text conversation. Why are we so obsessed with communicating with our thumbs? Human kind survived centuries without an Iphone or an Android. Why is it so important for us to have now? I’m trying to cut down on the number of times I reach for the phone and pay a little bit more attention to the world that is actually around me. Weather or not I’ll actually succeed in this I don’t know. If I’m honest with myself I know that any progress will most likely be temporary. As soon as I get involved in some exciting music project or feel the need to check my blog stats for the fifth time in an hour I’ll break. So how obsessed are you guys with your smartphones?

Don’t forget to subscribe to the blog guys and follow me @rahat_music on twitter.

Comments
  1. well, nice post, thanks for shar

Leave a Reply

