Rahat’s Weekly Music Spot #8 Clas6ix

Posted: May 30, 2013 in Rahat's Weekly Music Spot
Tags: , , , , , ,

Alright so I’ve missed the weekly music spots for the past two weeks now. To catch up I’m going to be doing two of these posts for this week and next week. That being said the first artist of this weeks music spot is an EDM producer and DJ who goes by the name of Clas6ix.

Clas6ix hails from Detroit Michigan, and has been making music since he was 12 years old. Now, 26, he’s made many accomplishments over they years in his music. Some of his achievements include producing for countless artists in the Hip Hop, Pop, and RnB genres, placement in Red Bull’s Big Tune Battle and more! I recently got a chance to catch up with Clas6ix and here is what he had to say:

Welcome to Echo’s of Rahat, care to give the readers a little introduction to yourself?

Thanks for having me, I go by the of name Clas6ix and I’m 26 year old Electronic DJ/Producer from Detroit, MI.

How did you come up with your artist name?

Well originally when I first started to make an appearance on the scene, I went by the name Yung Cee which sounds so horribly cheesy now as I say it. I would always show up to producer showcases around the city and there was guy by the name of Malaki who I would always run into. After watching me win a ton of showcases he started to call me “Yung Classics” because he felt that all of the beats I would play were classic material that the world needed to hear. As I got older I’ve altered the the spelling of the name a few times to finally end up wth Clas6ix.

How long have you been in the music game and what inspired you to start making music?

Around this time 14 years ago a friend of mine introduced my cousin and I to the well known music software Fruity Loops. With that introduction we spent most of our summer days inside of the house in front of computers making way too much noise. As I got better, what started as something I did for fun quickly became a talent I never knew I had and I loved every second of creating.

What artists have the biggest influence on you?

The Artists that had the biggest influence on me and still does to this day is Daft Punk. The very first time I heard “Around The World” I was immediately sucked in and at the time I wasn’t necessarily a fan of any electronic music. After learning the name I went out and purchased all of their albums including “Alive (2007) which is a live recording from the duo. Coming from a mainly Hip-Hop background I’d never heard or seen a Techno crowd so that album absolutely blew my mind. Everything from the mix to crowd reaction throughout the set had me on the edge of my seat for 84 minutes.

What is your favorite part of being a musician?

Being able to create sounds that can control peoples emotions. Being on stage and seeing people go crazy to something that started as an idea in your mind will never get old to me. Doing a showcase or a live set and getting a good response will always be that “They like me, THEY REALLY LIKE ME!!” moment lol.

Tell me a little about your latest project.

Life On The Grid 2 is the continuation of me establishing myself as an EDM producer. When I first started the project is when I started to feel a certain amount of freedom that I had never felt with any genre of music. Since the main focus is usually the beat in EDM I felt like I could actually create something without following a certain format or having restrictions. The listeners just want to feel the music and there’s enough bass and high synths to go around on this project for everyone.

What song on this release are you the most proud of?

The last track I actually made for the project and the most recent titled “#LifeOnTheGrid”. This track is all original and the closest I’ve come to creating a track that was a mixture of Dubstep and Trap. I placed it at the very end to show growth since the first track was made almost 2 years ago. I’ve learned a lot since then and I feel like that track represents me best right now.

What’s the hardest part about making new music?

The hardest part of it for me is when I have my days where I sit at the keyboard and have absolutely no idea on what I want to do but feel like I need to create something. Almost like I want to force something good out or I won’t be satisfied that day. I’ve had to learn over time that doing that will only create frustration and not music so what I’ll do is turn on music and just relax until something like a new sound or a melody sparks a new idea. It’s a lot less stressful and it’s better than mashing keys trying to figure something out.

I noticed you use hash tags in your song titles, does that help out with twitter marketing?

It really does and when I first started doing it that wasn’t the plan. I’m just kind of a Twitter geek and have an addiction to hash tagging unfortunately, but in doing so what it help me do is stumble across people I didn’t know who were listening to my music. It’s pretty awesome clicking on a trending topic that’s actually a title of track you made and you find out the listener lives all the way in the UK!

If there was one artist out there you could work with right now, who would it be?

It’s a dream of mine to one day be signed to under Mad Decent and work with Diplo. I feel like he can touch any part of EDM whether it’s Electro House, Trap, or Moombahton and it comes out sounding like gold. With his music it always sounds like he had a ton of fun in the studio creating and that’s what I’m all about. He also has his group Major Lazer which is heavily influenced by Reggae and Dance Hall so it would be really awesome to learn how he keeps balance and does so much.

What kind of music do you enjoy listening to?

It may sound a little Cliche by saying I enjoy all genres of music but it’s the absolute truth. My music library has a wide range of different genres but Electronic Music gets more plays because I enjoy listening to Instrumentals most of the time.

Where can fans follow you and listen to your music?

Everyone can listen to music at Clas6ix.com and follow me on twitter @Clas6ix, I can be a pretty entertaining person to follow at times.

Is there anything else you’d like to say or any shout outs you would like to make?

I would like to give a huge shoutout to my sister Erica aka “Two Dollar Tacos”, My best friend Alicia, and Echo’s of Rahat. I really hope everyone enjoys Life On The Grid 2 and continue to listen for future projects!

Huge thank’s to Clas6ix for the participation and also to Erica for helping to get this post together. Remember guys if you like the artists I do the weekly spot for then make sure you follow them and show them some support. While we do a mix of both major and indie music here, the primary focus is indie. If you like this post and would like to keep up with more then make sure that you subscribe and follow me @rahat_music on twitter. I’m not sure if I’m as entertaining as Clas6ix but I try!

Comments
  1. lynn says:

    We love you,

  2. […] Get To Know Clas6ix. […]

Leave a Reply

